Contact us Today!

740-596-1984Make Appointment Now!Directions

Business Hours:

We are open weekends - 
by appointment only

Defensive Pistol Training for Personal and Home Defense

public gun range

Real-world pistol training to prepare you to defend your home, your family, and yourself!

Defensive Pistol 1
On Guard Defense defensive pistol lady with pistol
Concealed Carry (CHL / CCW) 

In accordance with Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 2923.125, the course consists of a minimum of six (6) hours of classroom instruction plus two (2) hours on our range. You'll knock it out in a single day!!

Not all concealed carry classes are created equally. We are proud to present a curriculum focused on The Combat Triad - Marksmanship, Gun Handling & Mindset, developed by the late Lt. Col. Jeff Cooper. Why? Because we believe it is superior to the rest in setting the right expectations for prospective firearms owners in terms of the varying aspects of responsible gun ownership.
Session Length: 8.5 Hours | Cost: $100

Purchase all 3 classes & save 10%

  • What's Included?
    • Individual instruction by certified Instructors & Range Safety Officers
    • Firearm rental (Smith & Wesson M&P 22 Compact)
    • Ammunition (50 rounds) to complete required range drills
    • Eye & ear protection
    • Targets
    • Lunch, snacks & beverages
    • Plus, a voucher for five (5) hours free range rental valid for 90 days after class - valued at $100!

    Upon successful completion of this course and the written examination, students receive a certificate that can be used to apply for their Ohio Concealed Handgun License (CHL). The certificate is valid for three (3) years.

    Remember, On Guard Defense honors our military service members and honorably discharged veterans by offering our Defensive Pistol 1 class to them for free! We appreciate your service and sacrifice!!

  • FAQs

    Q: Is it CHL or CCW?
    A: In Ohio, it is a Concealed Handgun License (CHL), however, the terms "CHL" and "CCW" are often used interchangeably.

    Q: How old do I have to be to get my CHL?
    A: Applicants must be 21 years of age to apply for an Ohio CHL. Students 18 years and older may attend the class since the course certificate is valid for three (3) years.

    Q: Do I need a CHL if I want to legally carry a handgun in Ohio?
    A: Ohio is a constitutional (permitless) carry state.  Qualifying adults may carry their handgun open or concealed in Ohio where legally permitted to do so.  For Ohioans that wish to travel out of state with their handguns, having an Ohio CHL allows you to enjoy reciprocity in many other states throughout the nation.

    Q: I'm not interested in getting my license, I just want to learn the laws and how to use my gun safely.  Do I need to take an 8-hour class?
    A: Defensive Pistol 1 is an excellent starting point for new pistol owners. If you have specific areas of interest, check out our Workshops page to kickstart your training journey. 

    Q: What makes this class different from other concealed carry classes?
    A: This course goes well beyond "guns" and incorporates the critical elements of practicing good situational awareness, understand the federal and state laws that apply to gun ownership and concealed carry, and the things to consider if you are in a critical incident.

    Q: Do I have to have my own gun to take the class?
    A: No, we will supply you a rental gun and the ammo you need for the class at no extra charge. You will be better positioned to know what to look for when purchasing your firearm AFTER you attend class.

    Q: If I bring my own gun, will you still provide the ammo?
    A: The ammo included in the price of the class is 50 rounds of .22LR. If you bring a higher caliber gun to use for class, please also bring 50 rounds of associated ammo.

Defensive Pistol 2
On Guard Defense defensive pistol man drawing pistol from holster
Drawing from a Holster

Defensive Pistol 2 is a critical class designed for those that carry every day OR for those that need to build further confidence so they will choose to carry every day.

You will learn to draw from a holster, perform emergency reloads and develop more complex firearms skills needed for real-world defensive scenarios. 

Session Length: This is a 1/2 day class (9am-1pm or 1pm-5pm) | Cost: $75

Purchase all 3 classes & save 10%

  • Required Gear
    • Sturdy, close-toe shoes
    • Pants with belt loops and a belt
    • T-shirt/undershirt to prevent irritation from repetitive draw exercises
    • Hat
    • Holster (strong side, outside-the-waistband or inside the waistband-only)
    • Semi-automatic firearm
    • Two (2) magazines & a magazine pouch
    • 200 rounds of ammo - Full Metal Jacket (FMJ)
  • FAQ

    Q: I'm having a hard time deciding on a holster for class. Can you help?
    A: Absolutely! If you have any question about what type of holster to buy or you question the type of holster you already have, please Contact us for assistance.

    Q: I don't have eye and ear protection, can I get that from you?
    A: No worries. We can provide you both at no extra charge.

    Q: I can't find ammunition anywhere. Can you help?
    A: Let us know what caliber of ammo you need. We have most calibers in stock for those who will use it for class. Prices vary.

Defensive Pistol 3
On Guard Defense defensive pistol home invasion
Home Defense

Defensive Pistol 3 requires successful completion of DP2. You will learn to shoot from multiple positions,utilize cover, understand the importance of movement when reloading or resolving weapon malfunctions & shooting on the move.

You'll also learn tactical flashlight holds for low-light scenarios, support side draws and engage multiple simulated threats under stress.

Session Length: 8.5 Hours | Cost: $150

Purchase all 3 classes & save 10%

  • Required Gear
    • Sturdy, close-toe shoes
    • Pants with belt loops and a belt
    • T-shirt/undershirt to prevent irritation from repetitive draw exercises
    • Hat
    • Holster (strong side, outside-the-waistband or inside the waistband-only; no bellybands or Serpa)
    • Semi-automatic firearm
    • Two (2) magazines & a magazine pouch
    • 300 rounds of ammo - Full Metal Jacket (FMJ)
    • Tactical flashlight
  • FAQ

    Q: What kind of flashlight should I bring?
    A: Students should bring a flashlight with a tail-cap button and a retention lanyard. We also highly recommend the flashlight be pocket sized and brighter than 60 lumens.  

    Q: Do I still need a handheld flashlight if I use a weapon mounted light?
    A: We always recommend having a handheld light in addition to the weapon mounted light in the event we need to light up an area without drawing our pistol.

Upon receipt of your registration form, you will receive a separate email containing a link for you to submit secure payment via credit card. Once payment is received, your seat will be secured. If you prefer to pay by cash or check, payment must be received one week prior to class.

In the event you need to cancel, no refund will be issued. You may use your credit on account toward purchase of another class if applied within one (1) year of the date of original cancellation, otherwise no refund / credit will be issued.

Please indicate below how you wish to remit payment.

Client Testimonials

Placeholder Picture

Wow, wow, wow!! I haven't taken any training since I got my CCW six years ago. I had no idea how much I didn't know until attending this class. I feel safer already!

Jeff G.
Placeholder Picture

They hosted our private group CCW training, and they were wonderful, knowledgeable, and fun. I look forward to coming back for more advanced trainings!

Erik P.
Placeholder Picture

I enjoyed the Basic Pistol class and learned so much! I also liked how the instructors spent time after class to answer all my questions. I can't wait to get home and buy my first gun!

Paula F.